Big Bash League 2016-17 - Adelaide Strikers Squad

Brad Hodge (Captain), Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Jono Dean, Travis Head, Jon Holland, Chris Jordan, Ben Laughlin, Jake Lehmann, Tim Ludeman, Michael Neser, Kieron Pollard, Adil Rashid, Kane Richardson, Craig Simmons, Kelvin Smith, Billy Stanlake, Jake Weatherald

Ins: Agar, Carey, Dunk (Hobart Hurricanes), Jordan, Pollard, Weatherald

Outs: Mahela Jayawardene, Alex Keath, Hamish Kingston (Hobart Hurricanes), Gary Putland, Adil Rashid, Alex Ross (Brisbane Heat).

Availability: Head dominated last season with the bat, but is likely to miss the back half of this summer's BBL having cemented his spot in the Australian ODI team.

Meanwhile England's Rashid was the most prolific spinner in the competition, but will be unavailable for this year's tournament due to international commitments in India. In his place the Strikers have signed compatriot and all-rounder Chris Jordan.

Strengths: Head, Tim Ludeman and captain Hodge form the basis of a strong top-order last summer, helping their team to the top of the table after the preliminary stage, before their elimination at the hands of the Thunder in the semis. The return of the dangerous Pollard – who missed last season through injury – bolsters the batting further, while Dunk is more than capable too.

Weaknesses: The loss of Rashid hurts and increases pressure on Australian Test aspirant Holland, who will need to rise to the occasion as the team's main spinner after taking just four wickets last season.

No comments:

Post a Comment