Big Bash League 2016-17 - Sydney Thunder Squad

Shane Watson (Captain), Fawad Ahmed, Aiden Blizzard, Pat Cummins, Jake Doran, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Usman Khawaja, Nathan McAndrew, Alister McDermott, Clint McKay, Eoin Morgan, Arjun Nair, Kurtis Patterson, Ben Rohrer, Andre Russell, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha

Ins: Morgan, Gibson, McAndrew, McDermott

Outs: Ahillen Beadle, Michael Hussey, Jacques Kallis, Jonte Pattison

Availability: Watson will miss the start of the tournament with a calf injury. Khawaja (Test) and Cummins (ODI) are will both be unavailable for portions of the tournament because of international commitments, while England limited-overs captain Morgan will be available for the Thunder's early games before travelling to India.

Strengths: In McKay, Russell, Watson and Green, the Thunder have a formidable bowling attack on which they built their remarkable rise to the title last summer. It was Khawaja who was the standout though, making two centuries and two 50s from his four innings during the tournament. If they can get anything like that from him again, they'll be hard to top.

Weaknesses: The loss of Hussey in particular hurts, and without Watson and Khawaja early in the tournament the Thunder's batting could be vulnerable.

No comments:

Post a Comment